I’m not HIV Positive but I finally get it. I know now why silence is burying our communities.

It’s been two years since I published “Crooked Road Straight: The Awakening of AIDS Activist Linda Jordan.”
I’d be lying if I said my life got easier during this journey. I’ve always empathized with families struggling with this issue. I didn’t realize how difficult it was for survivors until last weekend.
I encountered some college educated men who literally turned their backs on me for hours at a health fair. They treated me as if this cause was infectious.
I’m not HIV positive. But I finally got it. This is why the silence is burying our communities. People shut down when they are treated this way.
Thank God for the hundreds of others who stopped by my table to say hello and to shared their stories.
But the folks who shunned me left a bruise.
That mark made me grateful that I was working on a makeover of http://www.crookedroadstraight.com with a extremely talented web designer. Those guys fueled a new determination and fight inside of me.
I won’t stop spreading the word about why America needs to embrace our issues that put us at risk for HIV infection.
Today is a good day to spread the word about “Crooked Road Straight: The Awakening of AIDS Activist Linda Jordan.” If you’ve read it, share it. Order it at your local libraries and bookstores for those you love.
Let’s take Crooked Road Straight viral. It’s a story about life not death. Check out the previews at http://www.crookedroadstraight.com.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

